PRESS RELEASE

In the Press release issued on 5.4.2018, it was informed that Dr. M.K. Surappa had been appointed as Vice Chancellor of Anna University by the Hon'ble Governor of Tamil Nadu, who is also the Chancellor of the University.

The Hon'ble Governor is the Chancellor of the University by virtue of Section 9 (1) of the Anna University Act, 1978.

It was noticed that 6 Universities including Anna University were without Vice Chancellors, on October 6th, 2017 when the present Chancellor assumed charge as the Hon'ble Governor of Tamil Nadu. Since then, appointment of Vice Chancellors has been completed for 5 of the 6 Universities, with the only exception being Tamil Nadu Physical Education and Sports university for which the name of the Government's nominee to be included as a Member of the Search Committee has not been received from the Youth Welfare and Sports Development department. The selection of the 5 Vice Chancellors including Anna University Vice Chancellor has been done, following the prescribed procedure. The details for Anna University are as follows:-

A Search Committee consisting of three members, one nominated by the Chancellor, one by the Government and one nominated by the Syndicate of the University was constituted vide G.O. (D) No. 356 Higher Education I (1) Department dated 30.11.2017.

An advertisement inviting applications for the post of Vice-Chancellor was approved by the Search Committee and issued in the newspapers and posted in the University website along with relevant sections of the University Act, Rules and

1

Regulations and eligibility conditions. The advertisement spelt out the eligibility conditions as provided in G.O. No. 187, Higher Education (K-2), 14th July 2017. No distinction based on place/State of origin is provided for in the G.O.

The Committee, after a careful study of the applications shortlisted 9 candidates for interaction with the Committee.

Based on personal interaction with the candidates on 31.3.2018, the Search Committee prepared a panel of three candidates and submited it to the Chancellor on the same day.

The 3 Members of the Search Committee were 1) Hon'ble Justice V.S. Sirpurkar, the Chancellor's nominee who is a former Judge of the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India and had also been a Judge of the Madras High Court from December, 1997 to July 2004, 2) Dr. N. Sundara Devan, Government nominee, who retired as Additional Chief Secretary to the Government after having held positions such as the Secretary to the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu from 27.1.1999 to 14.5.2001 and had also been the Secretary to Government in the departments of Revenue, Environment & Forest, Industries, etc., 3) Dr. R. Gnanamoorthy, the nominee of the University Syndicate is at present the Professor, Mechanical Engineering department in the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. The Search Committee was constituted on 30.11.2017 with a term of 4 months. On 19th March, 2018 a request was received on behalf of the Search Committee that the term of the Committee may be extended by one more month, i.e. up to 30th April, 2018. This was immediately approved by the Hon'ble Governor and communicated to the Search Committee vide G.O. (D) 96, Higher Education (I1) Department, dated 22.3.2018. The Search Committee however completed its work and

2

submitted the details of the 3 shortlisted candidates on 31.3.2018. Based on this, interviews were fixed for the 3 shortlisted candidates namely Dr. H. Devaraj, Dr. S. Ponnusamy and Dr. M.K. Surappa, all from the Backward Classes category on 5.4.2018. The 3 candidates appeared for the interview. Dr. M.K. Surappa is a Metallurgical Engineer by qualification and holds a Doctorate in that branch of Engineering, Dr. S. Ponnusamy is a Doctorate holder in Mathematics; Dr. H. Devaraj is a Doctorate holder in Bio-chemistry. While Dr. Surappa enjoys the administrative experience of having been the Director of IIT, Ropar for 6 years, Dr. S. Ponnusamy has been Head of the Chennai Unit of the Indian Statistical Institute and Dr. H. Devaraj has been the Vice Chairman of the University Grants Commission.

It is common knowledge that the University Grants Commission is a Statutory Body for the coordination and maintenance of standards of University Education in India, while the AICTE is the Statutory Body specifically meant for Technical Education in the country. The academic, teaching, research and administrative attainments of the 3 candidates were examined in detail by the Chancellor from 31st March to 5th April, 2018. Soon after the completion of the interview of the 3 candidates on 5th April 2018, the final result was declared and Press release was issued on the same day, to ensure complete transparency and total non-interference in the process of selection. The selection was purely based on the need for Anna University to have at its helm of affairs, a Vice Chancellor who understands the needs of Technical Education in Tamil Nadu to steer the future of the University, faculty and the students in the most suitable manner. The selection has been done in accordance with the laid down statutes. The selection was done from out of the list of 3 candidates submitted by the Search

3

Committee which consisted of illustrious personalities. The whole process was fair and transparent. The welfare of the Anna University and Engineering Colleges affiliated to the University, faculty and the students was kept in mind when making the selection. Since there has been no extraneous interference in the selection process and since the choice of the Vice Chancellor was done entirely in accordance with the statute, it is requested that politics be kept out and unnecessary mud slinging avoided.

Raj Bhavan, Chennai. Dated: 07.04.2018 SD/-S.S. Saravanan, M.A., MBA. JD(PR)