## **PRESS RELEASE**

## TAMIL NADU GOVERNOR THIRU CH.VIDYASAGAR RAO HOSTS INDEPENDENCE DAY RECEPTION 'AT HOME'

Thiru CH. Vidyasagar Rao, Hon'ble Governor of Tamil Nadu and Tmt CH. Vinodha Rao, First Lady hosted Independence Day Reception 'At Home' at Raj Bhayan, Chennai today (15.08.2017). Hon'ble Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, Thiru Edappadi K.Palaniswami, Hon'ble Selvi Justice Indira Banerjee, Chief Justice, Madras High Court, Hon'ble Speaker of Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly, Thiru P.Dhanapal, Former Governors of West Bengal, Thiru M.K.Narayanan and Thiru Gopalkrishna Gandhi, Former Governor of Odisha, Thiru M.M.Rajendran, Hon'ble Ministers of Govt. of Tamil Nadu, Nawab Mohammed Abdul Ali, Prince of Arcot, Chief Secretary to Govt., Dr.(Tmt) Girija Vaidyanathan, IAS., Director General of Police, Thiru T.K.Rajendran IPS., Service Personnel, Members of Diplomatic Corps, Dr.S.Ayyar, IAS., (Retd), Tamil Nadu Local Bodies, Ombudsman, Dr.M.Rajaram, IAS., (Retd), Member, TNPSC, Dr.A.K.Viswanathan IPS., Commissioner of Police, Greater Chennai, MPs, MLAs, Vice-Chancellors, Dr. Prathap C. Reddy, Chairman, Apollo Hospitals Group, Dr. Industrialists, Academicians, Civil Service Officers, Police Nalli Kuppusamy Chetti, Personnel, Members of Voluntary & Social Service organizations and other dignitaries were present.

The Governor presented Rolling Trophies to the District/Municipal Corporation which excelled in Armed Forces Flag Day Collection 2015. Thiru L.Nirmal Raj, IAS., District Collector, Tiruvarur received the Best Collection Trophy, the second Best Collection Trophy was received by Tmt.E.Sundaravalli, IAS, District Collector, Tiruvallur, Thiru K.Rajamani, IAS., District Collector, Tiruchirapalli received Trophy for the Maximum Collection and Thiru M.Seeni Ajmalkhan, Commissioner, Municipal Corporation Erode received the Best Collection Trophy for the Armed Forces Flag Day Collection 2015.

The Cultural Programmes were organized by the South Zone Cultural Centre. Bharathanatyam dance by Kalakshetra Shri Haripadman & troupe from Tamil Nadu, Thappetta Gullu dance by Shri Korada Sattiraju & troupe from Andhra Pradesh and Songi Mukhawate dance by Shri Ambasdas S Gauvli & troupe from Maharashtra were performed. The Governor honoured the artists and presented a cash award of Rs. 10,000/- (Ten Thousand only) for each Troupe. Thiru Ramesh Chand Meena, IAS., Principal Secretary to Governor and Thiru K.V.Muralidharan, IAS., Deputy Secretary to Governor and Comptroller, Thiru D.Mohan, IAS., Deputy Secretary (Universities) and Dr.Sajith. E.N, Director South Zone Cultural Centre were present.

Raj Bhavan, Chennai 15.08.2017

for Principal Secretary to Governor